YOU – Especially if you loved American Psycho & Misery

A terrifying exploration of how vulnerable we all are to stalking and manipulation, debut author Caroline Kepnes delivers a razor-sharp novel for our hyper-connected digital age. You is a compulsively readable page-turner that’s being compared to Gone Girl, American Psycho, and Stephen King’s Misery.

CupcakeMummy suggested I read this book and I won’t lie, it kind of really freaked me out! It scared the hell out of me, even the tone in which the book is written is freaky, told from the point of view of Joe – a sick & twisted stalker!

When a beautiful, aspiring writer strides into the East Village bookstore where Joe Goldberg works, he does what anyone would do: he Googles the name on her credit card.

There is only one Guinevere Beck in New York City. She has a public Facebook account and Tweets incessantly, telling Joe everything he needs to know: she is simply Beck to her friends, she went to Brown University, she lives on Bank Street, and she’ll be at a bar in Brooklyn tonight—the perfect place for a “chance” meeting.

As Joe invisibly and obsessively takes control of Beck’s life, he orchestrates a series of events to ensure Beck finds herself in his waiting arms. Moving from stalker to boyfriend, Joe transforms himself into Beck’s perfect man, all while quietly removing the obstacles that stand in their way—even if it means murder.

The book was not at all what I was expecting. I found myself breathless during this page turner, terrified of what freaky Joe would do next, what he was capable of doing. How Beck inadvertently gives Joe every bit of information he needs in order for him to manipulate, control and stalk her without her ever knowing it. It’s written in such an incredible way that you can’t help rooting for the creep, even while he is scaring the hell out of you, the humour in the book is also clever but very very dark. Joe is a complex character, both terrifying and highly entertaining, his take on pop culture is on point, even while his thought processes are totally out of whack.

I also loved the ending because there is NO happily ever after here…

Chilling. Brilliant! MUST read!!!!

Get it for your here:

And in paper here:

 

 

January 22, 2015
Previous Post Next Post

7 Comments

I LOVE comments, leave yours here:

You may also like

%d bloggers like this: